Damon Chetson handles felonies, misdemeanors, and DWI/DUI offenses. He represents individuals accused of:
- Federal Criminal Offenses
- Assaults (Misdemeanor or Felony)
- Drug Crimes (Possession, Trafficking, Sale & Distribution)
- Sex Offenses (Statutory Rape, Rape, Indecent Liberties, etc.)
- Robbery (Armed & Common Law)
- Burglary & Breaking and Entering
- Larceny & Theft (Misdemeanor & Felony)
- Domestic Violence
- Drunk Driving (DWI/DUI)
- Careless & Reckless
- Habitual DWI
- Driving With License Revoked (DWLR)
In North Carolina, crimes are divided into felonies and misdemeanors. Historically, felonies were crimes for which you could serve more than a year in jail. Today, crimes are felonies if the state legislature has determined they are felonies. Misdemeanors are less serious crimes. Historically, a misdemeanor was a crime for which you could not serve more than 1 year in prison. Today in North Carolina, an individual convicted of a misdemeanor cannot serve more than 150 days (5 months).
If you have been charged with a felony and are ultimately convicted of the felony, in certain cases you may not be eligible to serve prison time. If you have no criminal history at all, and the crime is not violent, you are probably eligible for a suspended sentence, and not active time. Even people who have some criminal history and have been convicted of a non-violent felony may be eligible for a suspended sentence.
A suspended sentence means you are placed on probation. Probation can be intensive, supervised, or unsupervised. If you follow the conditions of probation, you are free to live your life outside of prison. If you complete the entire probationary period without getting into trouble or violating the terms of probation, the probation will be terminated successfully.
During probation, however, a prison sentence is always in the background. If you violate the terms of your probation, your probation may be revoked, and you will be sent immediately to prison for the active prison term set by the original judge.
In North Carolina, each felony is assigned to a class. Class A is the highest, worst class. Class I (the letter “I”) is the lowest, least serious class.
Each misdemeanor also is assigned a class: Class A1 (most serious) to Class 3 (least serious).
The classes are used to determine sentencing if the defendant is convicted. North Carolina ended parole for any crimes committed on or after December 1, 1995. Under North Carolina’s “structured sentencing” formula, a convicted person sentenced to an active prison sentence, serves the entire minimum sentence. No parole is possible.
Find out how Damon Chetson can work to help you put on a strong defense, either to defend you from a conviction entirely, or to present the judge with your side of the story so that you will have a good chance to serve as lenient a sentence as possible.
Call (919) 352-9411 anytime.