Stephanie Pratt, one of the young “actresses” on MTV’s “The Hills,” has agreed to enter a 30-day rehab after being arrested on DUI charges last month.

In most cases in North Carolina, a 30-day rehab would be overkill.  I recommend clients do get an alcohol assessment if they’ve been arrested for Driving While Impaired (DWI) in Raleigh, Cary or Apex, Wake County.

There are several reasons to get an “alcohol assessment.” First, the assessment can be used to restore limited driving privileges if the driver’s license was automatically suspended at the time of arrest. Second, the assessment is useful if the driver ever faces a conviction, because obtaining an assessment and complying with recommended treatment prior to sentencing is considered a “mitigating” circumstance, and can improve the defendant’s sentencing position.

Damon Chetson - 992 posts

Damon Chetson is a Board Certified Specialist in State and Federal Criminal Law. He represents people charged with serious and minor offenses in Raleigh, Wake County, and the Eastern District of North Carolina. Call (919) 352-9411.

Raleigh Criminal Lawyer