Recent changes in North Carolina drug laws make hiring a Raleigh possession lawyer important when dealing with a PWISD, simple possession charge, or trafficking charge.
For first time offenders, a person charged with certain kinds of misdemeanor or felony possession charges may be eligible for drug diversion programs where, at the conclusion of the program, they are eligible for the complete dismissal of all drug crimes if they complete all the terms of the program.
It is important to hire an effective Raleigh drug lawyer as early as possible in the case, so as not to expose yourself or your child to additional charges, and to attempt to convoke a Wake County Assistant District Attorney to offer you a program that can result ultimately in a clean record.
If you or a loved one has been charged with drug trafficking, it is especially important to hire an effective Raleigh drug lawyer. Drug trafficking statutes have mandatory minimum sentences. If not handled properly, and if convicted of the offense, a defendant will be sentenced to at least 25 months (for certain drugs, such as marijuana) and at least 70 months (for opiates, including hydrocodone, oxycontin, and heroin).
If convicted of North Carolina drug trafficking crime, a defendant cannot receive any reduction in the sentence below the mandatory minimum unless the person provides “substantial assistance.”
It is important that you have an attorney who understands how to properly offer substantial assistant, and how to work with law enforcement to make your substantial assistance as effective as possible.
In addition, it is important that you have an attorney who is willing to go to trial, if that’s what you choose to do.