Contact us today to learn how our firm can help you win your case.

Fleeing to Elude in North Carolina

Fleeing to elude in North Carolina can be a misdemeanor or a felony. Pursuant to NCGS 20-141.5 (pdf), fleeing to elude in North Carolina will be a Class H felony if any two of the following factors are present:


  1. Speeding in excess of 15 miles per hour over the legal speed limit.

  2. Gross impairment of the person’s faculties while driving due to:
    1. Consumption of an impairing substance; or
    2. A blood alcohol concentration of 0.14 or more within a relevant time after the driving.

  3. Reckless driving as proscribed by G.S. 20-140.
  4. Negligent driving leading to an accident causing:
    1. Property damage in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000); or
    2. Personal injury.

  5. Driving when the person’s drivers license is revoked.
  6. Driving in excess of the posted speed limit, during the days and hours when the posted limit is in effect, on school property or in an area designated as a school zone pursuant to G.S. 20-141.1, or in a highway work zone as defined in G.S. 20-141(j2).
  7. Passing a stopped school bus as proscribed by G.S. 20-217.
  8. Driving with a child under 12 years of age in the vehicle

In addition, a fleeing to elude case in North Carolina will be a felony if a death resulted from the person’s actions. Finally, the statute authorizes the seizure, impoundment, and eventual sale of the vehicle, if the person is ultimately convicted of the crime.

CONTACT

NO PRESSURE.
SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY.
NO HIDDEN FEES.

* All Fields Required

Call

(919) 352-9411

office hours
  • Monday 8am-8pm

  • Tuesday 8am-8pm

  • Wednesday 8am-8pm

  • Thursday 8am-8pm

  • Friday 8am-8pm

  • Sat & Sun 8am-8pm

connect

CONTACT

NO PRESSURE. SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY. NO HIDDEN FEES.

  • * All Fields Required