Probation Violations and Revocations in North Carolina

Posted on - Probation

Recent changes to North Carolina’s post-conviction laws change the authority of the judge to handle probationers who violate the terms of their probation.

For all probation violations on or after December 1, 2011, the judge may only revoke for a new criminal offense or for absconding. The practice in many parts of the state is that a judge will not revoke on a new pending criminal matter, although in Wake County sometimes the probation office will sometimes file violations even where the new criminal offense has not resulted in a conviction.

For other violations, a court may order contempt, modification, or confinement in response to violation (CRV). A CRV for felony probation is 90 days and for misdemeanor probation is up to 90 days. If the remaining sentence in a felony is less than 90 days, then the Defendant will serve the entire remaining sentence. It’s unclear whether the same rule applies for misdemeanors.

The CRV is also called a “dunk”.

Any time served on the CRV is credited against the active time available.

Note sex offenders are treated differently. Any type of violation is grounds for possible revocation is a sex offender case.

Please share this...Share on Google+Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
 

Client Testimonials

"I'm so thankful I had the Chetson law firm on my side they helped me get out of a very tight situation that could have destroyed my record."

"I am very overwhelmed and satisfied from the result of a complete dismissal of a serious charge."

"I cannot possibly express my gratitude to the Chetson Firm in their care of my case. Mr. Chetson has exceeded my expectations."

"From the very minute I emailed Mr. Chetson at 9:38pm on a Saturday Night to his reply back to me at 9:48pm asking me to call him NOW I have felt secure and trusting in Mr. Chetson."