Driving While License Revoked (DWLR) is actually a misdemeanor charge – meaning that it is a criminal charge, and not an infraction – in North Carolina. It’s defined at N.C.G.S 20-28(a) as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is the second most serious misdemeanor class. (Class A1 is the most serious misdemeanor class level.) For “first…Read More
I’ve posted elsewhere on this site about assaults in general. The interesting thing about North Carolina’s crime of simple assault is that it is a Class 2 misdemeanor, and proof of a simple assault requires more than “mere words” on the part of the defendant. If the defendant merely said, “I’m going to hit you.”…Read More
I usually encounter people AFTER they have been stopped by a Raleigh, Cary or Apex police officer, and after they have gotten into trouble.
Here’s how a typical interview with a potential DWI client goes.
Me: “After you pulled over to the side of the road, and the police officer approached your door, what happened next?”
Client: “The […]
If you’ve been charged with making a harassing phone call, you probably have been accused of violating NCGS 14-196 which makes such acts a Class 2 misdemeanor. Assuming you have never been in trouble before with the law, if convicted, you would be sentenced to a “suspended sentence” (no jail time) and either community service…Read More
I recently spoke to an attorney who mentioned that there are probably only two or three dozen Raleigh criminal lawyers working in Raleigh who regularly visit clients in jail. I was shocked. I have always made it a practice to visit clients regularly in jail. In law school, when I was working with the Public…Read More
What happens if you are facing many years in prison, but the DA has just offered you a plea deal that would mean a much reduced sentence, or even just probation. What happens if you are in fact innocent of the crime, but the risk of going to trial means you may spend the next…Read More
I was recently asked by a client, “Is there anything we can do to speed up the process? I don’t want to wait 6 to 9 months to resolve my DWI?” The answer is: yes, you can speed up the process. You can walk into court on the first court date and plead guilty. This…Read More
I work seven (7) days a week. I’m available by phone at (919) 352-9411 whenever I’m awake. If I get a call, I return the call promptly. I work like this because I know that people expect high quality service, and because people who call me usually have very serious questions about serious traffic and criminal…Read More
If you’ve recently been stopped for a DWI in Raleigh, Apex, or Cary or other parts of Wake County, and you’ve either refused to take a breathalyzer or blood test or have blown more than a .08, the officer likely confiscated your license. This initial pre-trial revocation lasts for thirty (30) days. At this point…Read More
If you’ve been accused of a sex offense or rape it’s crucial that you talk to a criminal lawyer in Raleigh, Cary or Apex. The reason is that sex offenses and rapes are very serious crimes. At the most serious, they’re B1 felonies, which means a mandatory minimum of 25 years in prison, and potentially…Read More