North Carolina Criminal Costs have increased as of October 1, 2010. These are the costs that a person pays upon being found guilty or pleading guilty or receiving a PJC from a court in North Carolina. These costs are paid to the court the day judgment is entered, although your lawyer may be able to get the time extended.
The base District Court fee that must be paid to the Clerk of Court is $126.00. In addition, a person will be charged $10 for a Chapter 20 violation (motor vehicle offense, including DWI, and a $2.00 DNA fee plus $10 service fee for each arrest or service of criminal process, including citations and subpoenas. So if someone is charged under a single file number with a motor vehicle criminal offense (such as a DWI), that person would be charged $148 in court costs for District Court alone. That person may be charged additional fines.
Superior Court costs are approximately $168 more in that scenario.
Note: North Carolina’s court costs have increased dramatically since 2010. As of 2013, court costs were between $180 and $190 for District Court alone.
Damon Chetson is a life saver! My son got into trouble and I had to get an attorney quickly. I was nervous as Wake County is so big and there are so many attorneys out there... I called and was very pleased at how fast they were able to help my son. Very professional and said he would do best he could with our case. I am very happy with the outcome and that this is now behind us and recommend this firm 100%!!! Thank you very much Chetson Firm...Raleigh DWI client